NBA player Jason Collins comes out

On the heels of an article about an openly gay college football kicker wanting to break into the NFL comes the admission from 12-year NBA veteran Jason Collins that he is indeed a gay man. The gifted center who is a veteran of nine playoffs in 12 NBA seasons and is now a free agent, makes the admission in a self-penned article in the upcoming issue of Sports Illustrated magazine.

“I’ve reached that enviable state in life in which I can do pretty much what I want. And what I want is to continue to play basketball. I still love the game, and I still have something to offer. My coaches and teammates recognize that. At the same time, I want to be genuine and authentic and truthful.”

Read the SI article on Jason Collins by clicking here. What do you think of his decision to come out now? Do you think the NBA is ready for it? Offer your thoughts in our comments section.

UPDATE: Shortly after the release of this story, the first of what will undoubtedly be a homophobic backlash comes from  Miami Dolphins “wide receiver” Mike Wallace. From TMZ, read his comments here.

Leave a Reply

